Pride and Prejudice_ Jane Austen

2015 Jul. 17 51

picture from Amazon
picture from Amazon

Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen

Vintage UK

You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.

Before I start, I have a confession to make: this is my third time reading Pride and Prejudice, but the first time finishing it. 😛

I’ve always been loving this story. After reading it completely, I love it even more that I decided to start collecting beautiful versions of it from now on. (Thankfully I’m heading to the UK soon!)

Jane Austen is extremely good at building her characters. Each character got their own strong personality which makes them so vivid. I am really attached to every single one of them while reading due to this fact.

Also, the change and growth of several major characters are what make the story adorable. It’s just so glad to see Darcy and Elizabeth finally abandon their pride and prejudice and open up to each other. And Mr. Bennett’s constant visits to Pemberley at the end is so cute and touching.

Another element that makes me love this novel is Mr. and Mrs. Darcy. Their confession at the end reminds me of myself. Those words and thoughts somehow are really familiar to me. 😀

Elizabeth is for sure my fave character. Her wit is a rare trait to be seen in female protagonists. I love seeing her arguing against Darcy and Lady Catherine de Bourgh. The latter one in particular. Seeing her gradually become pissed off because of frustration is SO FUNNY!

Finally, Jane Austen is hilarious! Her sense of humor is something I didn’t notice before. I laughed out loud quite a few times while reading.

In short, reading a story as compulsory text and as leisure read is very different. However, a good story can be read for either purpose. And this novel is one of this kind. It is still fun and worth reading regardless of the literary components. Pride and Prejudice is definitely one of my all time favorite classics.

p.1 It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.

p.24 In nine cases out of ten, a woman had better show more affection than she feels.

p.68 He began to feel the danger of playing Elizabeth too much attention.

p.241 But vanity, not love, has been my folly.

p.405 He is a gentleman; I am a gentleman’s daughter: so far we are equal.

p.416 But your family owe me nothing. Much as I respect them, I believe I thought only of you.

p.420 Such I was, from eight to eight and twenty; and such I might still have been but for you, dearest, loveliest Elizabeth! What do I not owe you? You taught me a lesson, hard indeed at first, but most advantageous. By you, I was properly humbled. I came to you without a doubt of my reception. You shewed me how insufficient were all my pretensions to please a woman worthy of being pleased.

p.429 We all know him to be a proud, unpleasant sort of man; but this would be nothing if you really liked him.

p.433 I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look, or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.

p.436 Mr. Darcy sends you all the love in the world, that can be spared from me.

發表迴響

