The Heir_ Kiera Cass

2015 May. 21 39 

picture from HarperCollins Publishers
picture from HarperCollins Publishers

The Heir

Kiera Cass

Harper Collins Publisher

You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.

This book is almost as good as The Selection, which surprised me. At first, I quite despised this book. I don’t like the idea of adding a forth book to a “trilogy". It’s like the book is published not for plot development, but for people want a sequel. It’s not natural and not right. However, this book is in fact quite well-written! (Though I still think that the author should start a new series instead of continuing The Selection.)

Some people don’t like Eadlyn, finding she immature and annoying. Yet, I somehow can understand her. Well, yes, she may be a bit immature and spoiled, but she is just like Hermione, who projected a false confidence to compensate the sense of insecurity. The difference between them is that Hermione did so by getting everything done perfectly which Eadlyn by blocking herself from others. The distance made her constantly misunderstood by those who were not familiar with her. As an introvert who also finds it hard to open up to people, I feel like I know her personally.

I really like the way love is described in this book, especially Ahren’s point of view– there are some things you don’t learn about yourself until you let someone else into the most intimate places of your heart. It’s so touching and so right. The theme also reminds of the news about former LA mayor saying that women should not get married before 30. I find it bullshit. There is no one there to force you to give up your career for marriage. It’s all you. It is you who decides to apply this misconception about female on yourself. I am convinced that women can have both a husband and a career at the same time. It can be hard and tiring, but it’s not impossible.

Okay, back to the book. There are some suitors I really like, Kile and Erik are two of my favs. They are both so gentle, warm (and hot). Really hope that either of them can be the future king. As for Hale and Henri who are also popular candidates… I do like them, they are also really kind and cute, but somehow I just don’t see a king in them. Team Kile !!!! yay

The last two third of the novel is a bit slow, but the ending is so intense! Though surprised to know that the series will be continued, I am still hooked on the story, really looking forward to the continuation!

p.3 The problem is, even if we fix one issue, we couldn’t stop every instance of post-caste discrimination.

p.26 I hated it when he talked about my future like that, like sex and love and babies weren’t happy things but duties performed to keep the country running

p.30 But please, let yourself experience something here. ShRpen yourself, learn something.

p.44 I sometimes wonder about the life I would have had without the Selection, or if I had still Comte to the palace but lost. I think I would have been fine. Not unhappy exactly, but not aware of what else there could have been for me.

p.97 This isn’t a game, gentlemen the. This is my life.

p.120 You are one of the most isolated person in the country, but that doesn’t mean your walls have to be up all the time. You need to experience a romantic relationship once in your life.

p.121 I think you mistaking comfort for joy.

p.194 The sister in me wanted to stay. But the princess in me got up and went to prepare for the new day.

p. 206 It wasn’t simply a desire to be independent; there was a wall around me, and I wasn’t completely sure why.

p.276 This was why love was a terrible idea: it made you weak. And there was no one in the wold as powerful as me.

p.284 when you know who matters most to you, giving things up, even yourself, doesn’t really feel like sacrifice.

p.341 I kept thinking that I couldn’t live my life for other people, that love was nothing but chains. And maybe it was, but so help me, I needed these chains. I lt myself feel the weight of Ahren leaving, the weight of my fathers worry, and, most important, the weight of my mothers life hanging in the balance. These things didn’t make me weaker; they held my soul to the earth. I wasn’t going to run from them anymore.

發表迴響

